Department of Psychology Title The Ohio State University

Decision Psychology

Decision Psychology Faculty

There are currently five core faculty members. All serve as advisors to graduate students in the Program.


Michael DeKay
Associate Professor; Ph.D., University of Colorado Boulder, 1994. Research interests include perceptions of health, safety, and ecological risks; precautionary reasoning; information distortion in risky decisions; the perceived fungibility of outcomes in repeated decisions; and applications in environmental and medical decision making. dekay.3@osu.edu

Kentaro Fujita
Associate Professor; Ph.D., New York University, 2006. Research interests include motivation, cognition, self-regulation, and judgment & decision making. fujita.5@osu.edu

Ian Krajbich
Assistant Professor; Ph.D., Caltech, 2011. Research focuses on value-based decision making, also known as neuroeconomics. We seek to understand how our brains constrain the computations required to make decisions, and thus build better models of behavior. Methods include eye-tracking and brain imaging. krajbich.1@osu.edu

Ellen Peters
Professor; Ph.D., University of Oregon, 1998. Her research focuses on how affective, intuitive, and deliberative processes help people to make decisions in an increasingly complex world. Recent research has focused on numeracy, affect/emotion, and issues in health and environmental decision making. peters.498@osu.edu

Roger Ratcliff
Professor; Ph.D., University of Auckland, 1974. Research interests include diffusion processes, memory models, quantitative modeling, aging, judgment & decision making. ratcliff.22@osu.edu

Trisha Van Zandt
Associate Professor; Research interests focus on quantitative modeling. van-zandt.2@osu.edu

Duane T. Wegener
Professor; Ph.D., The Ohio State University, 1994. Research addresses social information processing in attitude change, impression formation, and decision making. Research also addresses the resulting biases in judgments and attempts to avoid or remove those biases. This research helps to inform understanding of the human side of social problems such as prejudice, health, and energy consumption. wegener.1@osu.edu